Clif Bar: Kit’s Organic Fruit + Seed Review

I am a huge fan of Larabars (Coconut Cream Pie, HELLO). I probably eat one a day, but would totally eat more if I didn’t have any willpower. I like to save one for each day and plan out which flavor I will have (which may be weird, but whatever). With that being said, I had a free coupon on hand to try a Kit’s Organic bar, made by Clif Bar, so I decided to just go for it and picked up the Cherry + Pumpkin Seed flavor.

Kit's Organic Cherry + Pumpkin Seed

Kit’s Organic bars are gluten, soy, and dairy free. They are also Certified Organic and this particular flavor boasts a mere 6 ingredients: Dates, Pumpkin Seeds, Cherries, Apples, Sea Salt, & Rosemary Extract. I loved the idea of a nice spin on a Larabar, but with all organic ingredients and the price at my Whole Foods was only $1.50 (but luckily I had my free coupon!), which is pretty close to the $1.29 Larabar. I was so intrigued by the flavors of Cherry and Pumpkin. Growing up I LOVED cherries and used to be handed a big bowl for an after-school snack, so I was excited to try it. I also purchased the Berry + Almond Fruit + Nut Bar just for the thrill of it.

Chowing on Kit's

Here are my thoughts on this particular flavor:

Likes:

– Texture: I really enjoyed that you could see all the ingredients (bits of cherry and whole pumpkin seeds) and it was still firm, but not tough to chew.

– Organic: It wasn’t too pricey for an “Organic upgrade” to Larabar

Dislikes:

 Flavor: Sad day 😦 I don’t know if it was the rosemary extract or the pumpkin seeds that did it, but the cherry was hardly noticeable to me. It seem quite overpowered by a flavor I couldn’t put my finger on. I ended up giving the rest of the bar to my sister.


Overall, I probably won’t buy this flavor again, but today I tried the Berry + Almond and had a much better experience. I enjoyed giving these bars a try, but I am still a true Larabar fan.

Although I may be turned by that Coconut Chocolate Almond flavor… Hmm….

Have you tried any Kit’s Organic Bars? What do you think of them?

Leave a Reply

