Berry Basil Salad

This morning started a little late for me, as I am not feeling 100%, but nonetheless a healthy breakfast can always brighten up any morning!

A Cheerful Breakfast

Today’s Menu: Sausage, Spinach & Tomato Frittata (aka an open-faced omelet I thought was too pretty to close) + Berry Basil SaladMaple Coffee

Maple Coffee

Did something a little different with my coffee this morning (although you’d be fooled due to the “just coffee” looking photo above). As suggested by Tina, over at Carrots ‘n Cake, I added some maple syrup to the bottom of the mug and poured my coffee over it. I added a splash of almond milk too and man, it was delicious. Fantastic suggestion! I say you go for it too. Just to mix it up!

Now onto the main attraction

Berry Basil SaladThis “salad” was inspired by a smoothie I get at a local restaurant, House Blend. They make an AMAZING Berry Basil Blender filled with fresh strawberries and tons of fresh basil. This salad is super easy and mouth-watering (don’t you love it when that happens).

Berry Basil Salad: (serves 1)

Ingredients:
1 cup fresh mixed berries (today I used raspberries & blueberries, but feel free to try others!)
6 large fresh basil leaves
Drizzle of raw, organic honey

Directions:
1. Wash berries throughly and place in bowl.
2. Chop fresh basil and add to bowl; gently toss together.
3. Finish off with a drizzle of honey.

Berry Basil SaladNow that was easy. Where is the big red “easy” button when you need it?! Feel free to double or quadruple the recipe for larger crowds. This also can act as a dessert too! Or blend it all up in a smoothie with some coconut or almond milk. Or use it as topping for some paleo waffles!

I could go on, but you get the idea… I hope you enjoy the fresh fruits of the summer season! It’s coming to a close quickly!

Have a fantastic Saturday! 🙂

Leave a Reply

