“The Paleo Kitchen” Cookbook Review

You may have heard I slightly enjoy cooking. Okay, that’s an understatement. I sometimes can’t even stop myself. I’m not even hungry and I’ll just start making up recipes. When I have “cooking-block” I pull out a cookbook (or three) for some inspiration. Since I’m broke, the library helps out a lot with this process.

My most recent rental came just a week ago: The Paleo Kitchen
by Juli Bauer & George Bryant

The Paleo Kitchen

In about a week’s time I have made seven recipes (out of the bazillion in the book): Pumpkin Waffles, Banana Bread Waffles, Lemon Raspberry Muffins, Cinnamon Chocolate Swirl Banana Bread, Hot Wings, Crockpot French Onion Soup, and an Afternoon Pick-Me-Up Coffee Smoothie to wash it all down. My sister also got a hold of the book and made some Honey Ginger Wings.

Hot Wings Recipe (but I used Drumsticks)
Hot Wings Recipe… They were “Mmmm, mmm, GOOD”.

This book I believe has become on of my favorites, if not the favorite, of all the recipe books I’ve sampled recently. The only reason I say it might be is due to the fact that I’ve had more time on my hands this past week so I’ve had more opportunity to use this cookbook in comparison to my time with the others. I’ll have to re-rent a few again.


Likes:

 Information: I love a cookbook with some meat to it (the metaphorical and literal kind). This book starts out with tons of basic information about the Paleo lifestyle, then moves onto cooking tips, and everything in between. It makes you feel supported in your venture into Paleo cooking.

– Pictures: I don’t know about you, but pictures are the things that make me cook a recipe. When I flip through a cookbook in the library or bookstore, if I see a bunch of pictures of mouth-watering dishes, then I’m all about it. If it’s just a bunch of text, it better have a really catchy recipe title or you’ve lost me (I’m like the Dory of the cookbook world). This book has a gorgeous photograph for every recipe. Congrats, Juli & George–you’ve got me.

Cookbook Snapshot– Simplicity: From what I’ve experienced so far, all of these recipes have simple ingredient lists and directions. I don’t like when a recipe calls for a really obscure ingredient I can never figure out how to use again, or a list of directions that’s two pages long. Ain’t nobody got time for that. There is none of that going on in this cookbook, which makes it really user-friendly. This is why I’ve been able to make so many recipes in such a short time. I keep finding myself looking at a recipe and saying “Oh I have all these things!” or “Wow, it only takes 20 minutes. Let’s do it!”

– Amount of Recipes: This is not a cookbook you can just blow through. I like when there are a solid amount of recipes in a book so I can have it for a few months and find another one I haven’t tried yet.

Dislikes:

– Breakfast Section: I usually don’t make baked goods for breakfast. Muffins, breads, and waffles I can normally wave off. I understand that lots of people love these breakfast items, so having Paleo versions of them is a fantastic idea (clearly, I had to try them for myself too). With these particular baked good recipes, I had a hard time putting as much sugar as was requested in the recipe. I found myself cutting out a lot of coconut sugar or honey and still ending up with a sweet product. I also wish there were meat & egg type dishes in this section since those are usually my go-to’s for breakfast.

Cinnamon Chocolate Banana Bread
Cinnamon Chocolate Swirl Banana Bread

– Referencing Other Recipes: This could be a very handy thing and I could be just complaining about nothing over here, but a decent chunk of the recipes require “ingredients” that are other recipes. I would understand if it mentioned a sauce or condiment t, but some of them were asking for leftovers from other dishes. For example, if you wanted to make the Cranberry Chicken Salad, you need 1-1/2 cups leftover, shredded Honey Mustard Chicken Thighs. Again, this is a really minor thing, but I ran into it two times when I was interested in one dish, but couldn’t make it due to not making another one. I guess if I owned the book and had leftovers of something, this could come in handy to figure out how to use them if it is in another recipe.

Overall, I really love this book and may not give it back to the library have to go out and by my own copy soon!
This is definitely one I highly recommend you checking out for yourself.
Thank you Juli & George for your brilliance! 🙂

Leave a Reply

