The Incredible Bulk [Nation]

I am probably a little too excited about this post. I’ll try to contain most of the excitement. This morning, Austin and I were roaming around Orlando and he said, “I have a surprise for you!”. We pulled into a shopping plaza and I saw it:

BULK NATION USA

Bulk Nation USAQuick background story: Last summer while working at an incredible summer camp, Muskoka Woods, we were allowed to head into town a few times a week and one of the highlights was the local Bulk Barn. I have yet to see anything like it in the States. So this was truly an exciting find for us and was reminiscent of our last summer in Canada.

Bins on bins on bins!
Bins on bins on bins!

This place is truly a gold mine. Strolling up and down the aisles, there is a plethora of options ranging from flours to butters to coffees, and everything in between.

I had to be very careful around all these coffee beans.
I had to be very careful around all these coffee beans.

I love that this store can appeal to everyone too. Paleo? There are bins full of coconut flour, almond flour, and organic, local honey. Are you Gluten-Free? Not only do they have bins of gluten-free products, but also a whole wall dedicated to Bob’s Red Mill products (I honestly didn’t even know some of these products existed and I’m a fan of Bob’s). Maybe you are a hardcore Organic consumer; there are plenty of organic options which are labeled with a bright green label. And if you have a major sweet tooth, you may not want to get too close, due to an aisle of chocolates and candies, which I walked through at a brisk pace.Bulk Barn Aisle

And let me tell you about the prices! I have a list in my phone of prices of products I use most often from the stores where I shop at most. Bulk Nation blew these prices out of the water. A 16oz jar of coconut oil is on sale for $2.99 right now (no, that is not a typo). TWO NINETY-NINE! They have a student discount available with valid student ID, so bring a college kid with you. Not to mention that they have a list of “Products of the Month” that have additional discounts on them. Finally, check out the website right now for a $5.00-off coupon for a purchase of $30 of more for the rest of August.

Make Your Own Nut Butters! Talk about fresh!
Make Your Own Nut Butters! Talk about fresh!

Once I reminded myself of that thing called a “budget”, my recipe-creating juices came to a halt and I agreed to grabbing just one bag of Vegetable Chips as a snack. FOR TODAY, that is.

Hello there, Delicious.
Hello there, Delicious.

Perhaps the best part of this mini adventure was the staff. We were greeted by every employee in the store. Also, since they have a specific system to bagging up your goodies, we were offered a little “training course” on their procedure. Although, there was some friendly banter about our memories at Bulk Barn, but luckily Canada is not down the street and this place is. 😉 We may have new loyalties now.

Oh decisions, decisions...
Oh decisions, decisions…

We had an awesome experience today at Bulk Nation USA. Sometimes fun surprises can happen in your own town. I am excited to have this new store in Orlando and it will aid with my Paleo recipe-making in the future!

If you made it all the way to the bottom of this post without stopping and running to Bulk Nation, well done, but now go hop in your car and get going! The Grand Opening will only last so long!!

3 thoughts on “The Incredible Bulk [Nation]

  1. I was revolted by the presentation of foods / staples. It felt like the third world food supplies. How do I know that an 8 year old who had just wiped his nose with is fingers didn’t then stick his hand into the bin?

    Like

Leave a Reply

