Are You a Baller on a Budget?

If so, my only words for you are “ditto“.

Well, not my only words for you… but I do know how you feel. I also know that healthy eating can be quite the pretty penny, so you may want some tips on how to stick to your clean eats without cleaning out your wallet. I’m currently following the Whole30 program (for the second time, let’s do it) and I have been trying to make it without hashing out all my earnings. Here are some of my first-hand experiences with saving money and eating well!veggies like whoa

1. Prioritize: Local! Organic! Grass-Fed! All these crazy (but important) labels on your food can bump up the price. When thinking about your grocery budget, prioritizing where to spend your money can help. For example, you may have heard of the Clean Fifteen and the Dirty Dozen, it is recommended that you go organic with those dirty dozen. From personal experience, I make my main focus my quality of meat: Grass-fed beef, Wild-caught fish & Organic Chicken, then get my fruits and veggies from a local produce market.Meat Market

2. Shop Around: You may feel silly at first, but it is so worth the effort. I have a “note” on my phone categorized by grocery store. I list which items I buy most often such as Larabars, Coconut Oil/Flour, Almond Milk, etc under each grocery store. I also add the price it costs at that store. After some detective work, I have managed to find the cheapest prices for those items. This has been tremendously helpful when picking a grocery store. I just check what’s on my grocery list and head to the store with the cheapest prices!

             Really Noted    Noted

3. Couponing/Store Loyalty/Apps: I know this is one of those “well duh” things, but you’d be surprised how many savings you can compile by taking some time to come to the store prepared. JUST DO IT. A friend I used to work with would say, “Anyone can buy something at full price, only the skilled can walk in and get it 80% off“. I agree! Check coupons! Store ads! Apps!It's SUPERR

For example: At Target, I check the ad before I shop, but also the Cartwheel app, which allows you to CHOOSE up to 11 savings on the items of your choice. On top of that, Target offers a 10-cent discount for every reusable bag you bring in. BUT WAIT THERE’S MORE! Target also offers Mobile Coupons you can add to your Passbook. Do you hear the little cha-ching going off in your head?! That’s a whole lot of savings if you just look around for it! Same thing goes for other stores too.

Hello, my little money-saving friends.
Hello, my little money-saving friends.

4. Scratch It: Making things from scratch when you can will give you more bang for your buck, as the saying goes. Do you really need your $4.15 latte from Starbucks? Even though it is delicious, trust me, I’m aware… The answer is more than likely no. Make it at home. Do you really need to spend $8 on a burrito bowl from Chipotle? Again, no. I understand when you’re super busy and have no time, but as much as you can help planning ahead and making things at home, do it. It will pay off.

And there you have it! There’s more where that came from too! Maybe I’ll do a “Part 2” in the near future. For now, enjoy these tips and don’t just read them: DO THEM! It will help out bunches and you’ll be less sad when looking at your bank account. Plus, you’ll feel awesome due to eating like a champ.


Whole30 Update: I haven’t shared much on this yet, but I am participating in the Whole30 program. I have attempted this before, but didn’t finish. Now, I am back on the horse and going to COMPLETE it! I felt incredible after the first 15 days, I can only imagine what 30 will feel like. I’ll be posting more about it soon!

Thanks for following The Thrive Life!

Have you tried Whole30? What was your experience like?

Leave a Reply

