Food Adventures: Artichoke + Beet + Starfruit

Artichoke. Check!
Chioggia Beet.
Check!
Starfruit. Double Check!?Funky Produce

Are these the kinds of things on your grocery list? Yeah, me neither. Alas, they somehow made their way into my basket. Something about these foods shouted, “ADVENTURE AWAITS! TRY US!” (What do you mean your food doesn’t talk?! :P) I went for it. I grabbed them and brought them home. My next thought: What in the world do I do with these things?

Artichokes can help lower cholesterol, aid in digestive health & liver function, and act as a cancer preventer. Artichoke BeautyI knew that they were “healthy”, but I always thought of them to be intimating to cook and eat. Turns out, it’s pretty darn simple. Here is a link that gives you a very basic method of how to cook and eat and artichoke. I wanted to do something a little “extra” so I roasted my artichoke with fresh garlic, sea salt, and pepper as recommended by @amazon_ashley. I’ll tell you what– it was easy and tasty! I can see myself buying artichoke when on sale and using it as an interactive snack during a Criminal Minds binge-watching fest an evening cuddled up with a quality read. 😉Roasted Garlic Artichoke

Chioggia Beets are gorgeous. Seriously, will you just look at the inside of this thing? Beet Chip BeforeTalk about not judging a book by its cover… Beautiful pink and white ribbons spiraling through this incredible root. Other variations include sunset orange and yellow rings! Wow! Every time I envision beets I think of the pickled ones in the jar, so picking up a beet without it in this glass container was quite and unusual move for me. I decided beet chips would be an EXCELLENT idea, so I gave this recipe a try from Minimalist Baker. They turned out okay, I think my oven was a little too hot, but I am definitely willing to try it again. I saved a few chunks of my beet to roast with some broccoli and that was amazing– Great flavor from such a beautiful root!Beet Chip After

Starfruit! Oh, how I have been missing out! The StarStarfruit has the texture similar to a grape (you know that slight “crunch”?) and similar flavor to a green apple or pear, depending on its stage of ripeness. Rich in antioxidants and vitamin C, this gem of a fruit can be eaten completely raw, including its somewhat waxy skin. I thought I would give it a try and I bought two– one for a raw snack and the other to be roasted alongside my roasted sweet apples. Both ways turned out to be awesome; the flavor profile became more rich after roasted. This fruit will be frequenting my shopping basket more often! Plus, it just makes me smile having stars scattered around my plate. 🙂Starlight BreakfastStarfruit Beauty


Have you tried any unique foods recently?
Be on the lookout for more “Food Adventure” posts about the new foods I’m giving a go!

One thought on “Food Adventures: Artichoke + Beet + Starfruit

Leave a Reply

