Elementary Energy

At work they announced a STEP CHALLENGE. 
So naturally my first thought was, I need to crush all these people!! I mean…. uh, I’m glad we’re all challenging ourselves to get healthy together! 😉Pedometer

We have two weeks to get as many steps as possible and we all need to keep track of them on these pedometers. My crazy competitive side is now causing me to obsessively check it after every 28 minutes just be sure I didn’t get a defective one. If I lose, clearly it will be the pedometer’s fault.

I’m still holding strong after the Whole30. I am still quite amazed how my habits have completely changed. While the smell of boxed brownies were filling the kitchen, I was noshing on Garlic Roasted Spaghetti Squash with a garlic basil tomato sauce that I threw together. Topped with some roasted tomatoes + Aidells Artichoke & Garlic sausagesfresh basil. Now that’s a delicious Paleo (and Whole30 compliant) pasta! Am I right, or am I right?Paleo PastaI had the pleasure of babysitting two very active elementary schoolers this evening. They are so energetic and it encourages me to jump right in. What’s great about this situation is that you can basically trick persuade them to exercise with you by pitching it as a gameHey guys come here, I have this really fun game!

Tonight we did “animal races” (bear crawl, crab walk, and ape walk), then set up an “obstacle course” (box jumps) and had a “hold-it competition” (planks, wall sits, bridges). If you have kids, or are hanging out with some, you can still get that workout in and have them tag along!JUMP!And I will have you know that I won all most of the races!
Okay, so maybe I was beat by an 8-year-old… but I totally let him win! 😛

2 thoughts on “Elementary Energy

  1. I just found you blog through a google search on whole 30, which I’m starting on Sunday. I noticed that you were from FL and now I see that you work for SCPS (I’m in seminole county and hope to teach for SCPS next year). Thats so neat! Its such a small world. And I love your blog 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

